Beyond India

28 Nov

If you take anything from my blog it must be this advice….get to this restaurant! Beyond India is an amazing Indian restaurant in Adelaide, 170 0′Connell Street North Adelaide SA 5006. I only became a fan of Indian food around three to four years ago and lately I have been craving it heavily. My man and I always got Beyond India delivered on Sunday night when we were both hangover and couldn’t be bothered cooking but just recently we experienced the dine-in and it was just heavenly. We didn’t realise how neat, clean and fancy the restaurant was, it was quite the romantic setting. Now, I am a lover of butter chicken when it comes to Indian food…yes, I know, boring….but at Beyond India I cannot go past the Lamb Korma. The meat is fresh and clean, just falls apart and the coconut and spices are perfect. It is standard that you get pappadams, naan bread and rice because without them it simple not an India experience. My man had to pick something different so he tried the barramundi in coconut milk, curry leaf and tamarind….which is a usually a little risky for me but was actually delicious. The fish fillets were fresh and were cooked perfectly, although a little spicy for me to handle but I am told that I quite the wimp when it comes to spice.

 

I have to mention the welcoming and experienced staff at this restaurant, they were warm and friendly, they didn’t constantly harass you, they were well groomed and efficient and most of all, they looked like they enjoyed their job. The restaurant had a lovely setting, simple but very elegant with comfy leather chairs and the tables had adorable elephants on them. I can imagine this place is extremely busy on weekends so probably best to make a booking but we strolled in on a Friday night at 6pm and beat the rush. Now this place is a little pricey but Indian restaurants usually are because you tend to pick a couple dishes and it racks up. We spent $70 between the two of us but it was definitely a belly buster.

Hands down Beyond India receives 5 out of 5 stars, I think this place is the bees-knees of Indian restaurants. I’ve been to British India and Spice Kitchen but Beyond India takes the cake, the staff told us that they have been running the business for 12 years and they currently have two restaurants so you can tell they take pride in their business and I can understand why.

Beyond India on Urbanspoon

3 Responses to “Beyond India”

  1. adelaidefoodies December 1, 2011 at 2:27 PM #

    Beyond India is surely one of the best indian restaurant in Adelaide.:)

  2. Natalie December 2, 2011 at 11:23 AM #

    Have you tried Indian Temptations on Main North Rd? So good and so cheap! http://thelonelyplate.blogspot.com/2011/05/indian-temptations-adelaide-south.html

    • Whattofork! December 2, 2011 at 11:47 AM #

      No I haven’t been there, cheers for the tip…I’ll check it out :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

