Montezuma

21 Nov

You know when you get that craving for Mexican and you just cant go with out it…..that’s me almost every weekend. I heard on the grapevine that Montezuma’s - 134 Melbourne Street, North Adelaide SA was the place to go for serious Mexican. I have to get the word out….it is not the place to go, at all! Ok, I admit we were swept up at first by the theme of the place and so many options to choose from. Naturally we started with nachos with guacamole…which were fairly standard but slightly small. We were a little lost with what would be the ultimate meal so we asked for suggestions from the waiter, and had faith in her advice. I had taquitos and tacos, my man had some sort of chicken tacos and they both came with the usual frijoles, rice and salad.

Where do I start….the chicken unfortunately tasted boiled, frozen, microwaved and fried; and the cheese was twice melted and tasted rancid. I felt so sorry for my man because the taste of his dish made me dry reach. My dish wasn’t so bad but the rice was not the best, luckily the beef taco was good and the salad was surprisingly nice with apple and celery. What was meant to be a romantic Mexican dinner turned into a very disappointing tummy ache that cost way more than necessary.

I feel so horrible but I have to give Montezuma’s a 1 out of 5 stars. Although the atmosphere was fascinating, the food just did not match and walking away $60 down just finished it. I don’t think I would even give the place a second chance. There are much better Mexican places that satisfy my desire.


Montezuma's on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “Montezuma”

  1. Anonymous November 23, 2011 at 5:20 AM #

    I would have to agree Montezuma’s is probaly the worst Mexican resturant in Adelaide horrible food and staff.

    • Whattofork! November 23, 2011 at 10:58 AM #

      Oh so terrible! I am glad I have found a better place!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

