Zapatas!…get in my belly!

30 Oct

Since I have found this place I bugged my man every weekend to go there, hands down the best Mexican joint in Adelaide! At  Zapata - 42 Melbourne Street North Adelaide SA 5006 you must definitely have to make a booking because the first time we ate there we just walked in off the street and luckily they could fit us in but we were seated in a dark corner….I didn’t care because it was well worth it. I always struggle to decide what to eat because everything looks delicious but if you ever go there it is standard that you get the supreme nachos, the corn chip to cheese ratio is scientific. The guacamole is divine and actually handmade, unlike the other terrible jar versions you get at some other places. They have a variety of Mexican import beers which is exciting to try, last time I had Corona Light which I never knew existed. My suggestion would be the Los Tacos in beef….the beef tastes like slow cooked beef chunks that just fall apart and the frijoles is extremely heavy but properly made.

 

Now I know that from photos it doesn’t look appetizing but you have to trust me that it is delicious, plus the lighting is dim in there so you don’t really see very well. The prices of the dishes are fairly reasonable considering the portion size and many of the dishes you can share. Zapata has this real Mexican charm to it, with random bright paintings and figures on the walls, and the tables and chairs are comfy and great for small parties.

Hands down, Zapata receives a 5 out of 5 stars because I simply can not find a fault. The food keeps me coming back and every time I am impressed. The staff is a little quirky but that matches the layout of the restaurant. I will happily spend $60 for two because I know that everything is handmade and fresh. I have to spread the word about this place!! Please give it a go and hopefully you enjoy it as much as us!

Zapata's Mexican on Urbanspoon

4 Responses to “Zapatas!…get in my belly!”

  1. Anonymous November 23, 2011 at 5:38 AM #

    Thanks Jess, this is really informative and good to know. I haven’t really had mexican in Adelaide and Montezumas/Zapatos impressions are really stark in comparison. I know where ill be heading :)

    • Anonymous November 23, 2011 at 5:38 AM #

      That first comment way by me…. David Holden by the way :s

      • Whattofork! November 23, 2011 at 10:59 AM #

        Haha cheers Holden xox

  2. James Marcopoulos November 23, 2011 at 9:37 PM #

    Hold up Holden!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

